Pitchers Magrisi, Gonzales Earn All-WCL Honors

RHP Magrisi is Pippins’ lone first-team selection; LHP Gonzales receives honorable mention

YAKIMA, Wash. – Yakima Valley Pippins pitchers Joe Magrisi and Jack Gonzales have earned All-West Coast League honors for 2019, the league announced today.

Magrisi, a 6-foot-2, 210-pound right-hander from Cal State Fullerton, was the Pippins’ leading pitcher, with a 2.60 ERA in 34.2 innings pitched across eight games this summer. Magrisi struck out 66 batters and walked only 12 en route to a 2-1 record.

Magrisi struck out 10 or more batters in four appearances, including 13 in his final outing in Victoria on July 20. Ironically, that 6-inning start was his least-effective appearance of the year: He surrendered 10 hits and eight earned runs in the 9-1 loss. In his seven other official appearances, he allowed no more than four hits.

Magrisi, who along with Gonzales were the Pippins’ only two All-Stars this year, was shut down after the July 20 outing because he reached his inning limit for the summer.

Gonzales, a 6-foot-3, 225-pound left-hander from Dixie State who was a second-year pitcher for the Pippins, earned honorable mention WCL honors. He finished 2-2, striking out 45 and walking 19 in 57.2 innings. He allowed 22 earned runs for a 3.43 ERA in 17 games, which included five starts and one complete game.

Since the team’s inception in 2014, 13 Pippins players have earned All-WCL first team honors.

The Pippins’ seventh West Coast League season will begin in June 2020.

The complete All-WCL teams:

All-WCL First Team

C – Frankie Niemann (Tulane, junior), Victoria HarbourCats
1B – Matthew Christian (Campbell, senior), Port Angeles
2B – Jake Harvey (Oregon State, soph), Corvallis Knights
3B – Andy Atwood (Texas Rio Grande Valley, senior), Corvallis Knights
SS – Brooks Lee (Cal Poly, frosh), Corvallis Knights
OF – Patrick Caulfield (UCLA, junior), Walla Walla Sweets
OF – Briley Knight (Utah, soph), Corvallis Knights
OF – Jake Holcroft (Portland, frosh), Corvallis Knights
UTL – Michael Curialle (UCLA, frosh), Corvallis Knights
SP – Tevita Gerber (Dixie State, senior), Corvallis Knights
SP – Nick Proctor (Cal, soph), Bellingham Bells
SP – Joe Magrisi (Cal State Fullerton, soph), Yakima Valley Pippins
SP – Brad McVay (Portland, soph), Portland Pickles
SP – Jake Saum (UCLA, frosh), Wenatchee AppleSox
RP – Rance Pittman (Southeast Missouri State, junior), Cowlitz Black Bears
RP – William Kempner (Gonzaga, frosh), Corvallis Knights

All-WCL Second Team

C – Hunter Montgomery (Portland, junior), Wenatchee AppleSox
1B – Michael Hicks (Boise State, senior), Ridgefield Raptors
2B – Tyler Grissom (Chico State, senior, Kelowna Falcons
3B – Zach Needham (Lewis-Clark State College, senior), Bend Elks
SS – Kody Darcy (Xavier, soph), Wenatchee AppleSox
OF – Nick Plaia (Cal Baptist, senior), Victoria HarbourCats
OF – Ryan Altenberger (Xavier, junior), Wenatchee AppleSox
OF – John Jensen (UC Irvine, senior), Portland Pickles
UTL – Harrison Spohn (Cal Baptist, junior), Victoria HarbourCats
SP – Jackson Arnsdorf (Corban, junior), Corvallis Knights
SP – Travis Craven (Whitman, senior, Walla Walla Sweets
SP – David Watson (Utah, soph), Corvallis Knights
SP – Jack Hyde (San Deigo, frosh), Victoria HarbourCats
SP – Calvin Turchin (Hawaii, junior), Victoria HarbourCats
RP – Coen Wynne (Grand Canyon, junior), Bend Elks
RP – Jimmy Chatfield (Yale, soph), Bellingham Bells

All-WCL Honorable Mention

Bellingham: Justin Armbruester (Bellingham), Collin Burns (Tulane), Austin Kretzschmar (Stanford), Jack Machtolf (Gonzaga), Guthrie Morrison (Gonzaga), Troy Viola (San Jose State)

Bend: Ryan Kaser (Lewis-Clark State)

Corvallis: Brodie Cooper-Vassalakis (Grand Canyon), Connor Knutson (Portland), Tim Josten (Cal State Fullerton)

Cowlitz: Austin Bell (Dallas Baptist), Sam Ireland (UC Irvine), Alex Salazar (Campbellsville)

Kelowna: Matt Voelzke (George Fox)

Port Angeles: Dwayne Angebrandt (Cal State Northridge), Damiano Palmegiani (Cal State Northridge)

Portland: Kyle Manzardo (Washington State), Michael Perzan (Grand Canyon)

Ridgefield: Peter Allegro (Portland), Carter Benbrook (UC Santa Barbara), Joey Martin (Kansas State), Steve Ramirez (Riverside CC), Cameron Repetti (Cal State Fullerton)

Victoria: Parker Bramlett (Angelo State), Austin Celestino (Incarnate Word), Tanner Haney (Texas), Tyson Hays (Illinois State), Chase Meidroth (San Diego), Griffin Paxton (Texas-San Antonio)

Walla Walla: Brock Ephan (Lewis-Clark State), Brayde Hirai (Central Washington), Cesar Lopez (Cal Poly Pomona), Reid Sebby (Oregon State)

Wenatchee: Blake Klassen (Arizona), Kodie Kolden (Washington State), Seth Kuykendall (Western Oregon), Cole McKenzie (Purdue), Johnny Sage (Purdue)

Yakima Valley: Jack Gonzales (Dixie State)

2019 WCL MVP

Briley Knight (Utah) of Corvallis

2019 WCL Pitcher of the Year

Tevita Gerber (Dixie State) of Corvallis

2019 WCL Top Prospect

Brooks Lee (Cal Poly) of Corvallis

By Jeff Garretson

August 26, 2019