Frieders Selected as All-WCL First-Team Pick

Tyler Frieders

YAKIMA, Wash. – Tyler Frieders, the Billings, Mont., right-hander in his second summer with the Yakima Valley Pippins, has been named to the All-West Coast League first team.

Frieders, who will continue his collegiate career at MidAmerica Nazarene University in Olathe, Kansas, this fall, caught fire for the Pippins in late June and turned in an impressive string of starts that resulted in victories in four consecutive starts in which he tossed at least seven innings. He started the run with a 9-3 win over the Sweets in Walla Walla on June 29 (7 innings), followed by a 12-4 victory with an 8-inning effort in Kamloops. On July 11, he beat Kamloops again in Yakima with another 8-inning performance en route to a 3-0 win, and then beat Port Angeles on the road with a complete-game three-hitter on July 24.

For the summer, Frieders finished 7-2 with a 3.00 ERA in 72 innings pitched in 14 games, including 12 starts. He struck out 48 and walked 36.

Frieders, a former Yakima Valley College standout, is the Pippins’ only first-team selection this year. Infielders Connor Coballes and Spencer Shipman, outfielder Jackson Reed and pitcher Michael Splaine earned honorable mention WCL awards.

The Pippins qualified for their second straight postseason appearance on the last day of the 2022 regular season by beating Kelowna on the road, coupled with a Bend loss to Cowlitz. The Pippins beat Corvallis in the first game of the best-of-three divisional series before the Knights rallied back to win the series with victories in games 2 and 3.

Yakima Valley will open its ninth season in the WCL in June 2023.

The complete All-WCL teams:

First Team

C – Beau Sylvester (Oklahoma State, frosh), Bend Elks

1B – Evan Scavotto (Portland, junior), Bend Elks

2B – Joichiro Oyama (UC Irvine, junior), Wenatchee AppleSox

3B – Tim Holyk (Cumberland, junior), Nanaimo NightOwls

SS – Elijah Jackson (Chico State, junior), Bend Elks

OF – Jacob Sharp (UNLV, soph), Ridgefield Raptors

OF – Calyn Halvorson (Utah Valley, junior), Cowlitz Black Bears

OF – Clay Loranger (Stephen F. Austin, senior), Edmonton Riverhawks

UTL – Travis Welker (Fresno State, senior), Ridgefield Raptors

SP – Trevin Hope (Lewis-Clark State, senior), Bellingham Bells

SP – Tyler Frieders (MidAmerica Nazarene, junior), Yakima Valley Pippins

SP – Ryan Beitel (British Columbia, junior), Bellingham Bells

SP – Kaden Segel (Linn-Benton CC, soph), Corvallis Knights

SP – Jon Mocherman (Riverside CC, soph), Cowlitz Black Bears

RP – Sean Wiese (Hawaii, junior), Corvallis Knights

RP – Nathan Shinn (San Francisco State, soph), Portland Pickles

RP – Evan Tomlinson (Cal Poly, soph), Portland Pickles

Second Team

C – Michael Campagna (San Francisco, senior), Portland Pickles

1B – Kiko Romero (Arizona, soph), Corvallis Knights

2B – Jake Tsukada (Portland, junior), Bend Elks

3B – Nick Hovland (Washington, senior), Cowlitz Black Bears

SS – Aiva Arquette (Washington, frosh), Wenatchee AppleSox

OF –Trent Prokes (Modest JC, soph), Ridgefield Raptors

OF – Joseph Redfield (Sam Houston State, soph), Victoria HarbourCats

OF – Felix Chenier-Rondeau (Oklahoma City U, junior), Kamloops NorthPaws

UTL – Elijah Hainline (Washington State, soph), Bellingham Bells

SP – Josh Laukkanen (New Mexico State, senior), Nanaimo NightOwls

SP – Sean Heppner (British Columbia, soph), Kamloops NorthPaws

SP – Jesse Barron (San Francisco, junior), Corvallis Knights

SP – Cooper Rons (UC Santa Barbara, soph), Ridgefield Raptors

SP – Raul Herrada (Hope International, senior), Cowlitz Black Bears

RP – Jake Green (Lewis-Clark State, junior), Bend Elks

RP – Andrew Hauck (Utah Valley, junior), Port Angeles Lefties

RP – Kolby Lukinchuk (Thompson River U, soph), Kamloops NorthPaws

# year in school noted for fall/winter/spring, 2022-2023.

Honorable Mention

Bellingham: Cameron Dayton (Seattle U), Christopher Foster (Montevallo)

Bend: Decker Stedman (Linn-Benton CC)

Corvallis: Jonah Advincula (Washington State), Temo Becerra (Stanford), Zander Darby (UC Santa Barbara), Nathan DeSchryver (Gonzaga), Neil Feist (El Camino College), Joey Gartrell (Portland), Mason Le (Cal State Northridge)

Cowlitz: Alec Arnone (San Diego Christian), Ben Zeigler (Hawaii)

Edmonton: Aren Alvarez (UC San Diego), Riley Barrett (Arizona State), KJ Ward (Oklahoma Panhandle St)

Kamloops: Zack Beatty (Kansas Wesleyan), Tommy Green (Oakland), Ben Polack (San Jose State)

Kelowna: Jasper Nelson (Sacramento State), Nick Woodcock (Yavapai College)

Nanaimo: Garrett Goodall (Embry-Riddle)

Port Angeles: B.Y. Choi (New Mexico Military Institute), Trey Maeker (Fordham), Liam Paddack (Spokane Falls CC), Riley Parker (Cal State San Bernadino), John Pfeffer (Cal State San Bernadino)

Portland: Jason Doktorczyk (Sonoma State), Jacob Jablonski (Chico State), Kolby Kmetko (Washington State), Eddie Saldivar Jr. (Long Beach State), Kyle Stancato (Cal State Bakersfield)

Ridgefield: Doyle Kane (UC San Diego), Mikey Kane (Oregon State), Riley McCarthy (Portland), Jeter Schuerman (Cal State Bakersfield), Safea Villaruz-Mauai (BYU)

Springfield: Theo Millas (Central Arizona)

Victoria: Grady Morgan (Chico State), Flynn Ridley (Panola JC), Jack Seward (San Jacinto College), Russell Young (Johnson County CC)

Walla Walla: Nick Wilson (Southern)

Wenatchee: Matt Halbach (UC San Diego), Grant Sherrod (South Carolina Upstate)

Yakima Valley: Connor Coballes (Gonzaga), Jackson Reed (Gonzaga), Spencer Shipman (Yakima Valley College), Michael Splaine (UC Santa Barbara)

By Yakima Valley Pippins

August 18, 2022